An Interesting Story in the afternoon: Sitting and Listening to Penjual Pecel and Shoe-repair Man

This afternoon, right after tidying up my room, I went out to look for new bed
sheet and shoe-repair Man, since the shoes that I love was broken 3 weeks ago.
So, right at 2 PM, I drove my motorcycle around my complex and I met the shoe-
repair Man nearby the barbershop and he asked me to stop by near a woman, let
say, she is in her mid 50, she sells Indonesian vegetable salad.

Here is when the story begins.

At 2 PM in Jakarta, Indonesia, the sun is absolutely shining very bright
everyday. It was really-really hot so I decided to buy some drinks, since I
noticed both of shoe-repair man and Pecel Seller must had been walking for a
long time, I bought 2 bottles of energy drink water. After I got back, I sit
between them. I gave each of them the energy drink water. FYI, it costs just
like 3500 IDR per bottle, very affordable, huh. A shocking response was given to me after giving them the energy drink water, they said thankful like many-many times. Then, I was thinking, probably for worker like us, who earns enough money, 3500 IDR is kinda cheap, however, that means a lot for them.

Subsequently, I sit and the Pecel Seller started to share some stories to me.
First story was about her daughter who is a labour at roof-making company was
winning a motorcycle from door prize. I was happy for her too, despite her
difficulties of life, she still shared a happy story to me. Nevertheless, the
second story she told me was about her daughter’s husband was hospitalized due
to drinking poison that was stored inside of an orange juice bottle. She was
remarkably sad, since the hospitalized costed them around 4.500.000 IDR. 😦
But, thankfully, the son-in-law could make it, he is healthy by the time she
was telling the story to me. 🙂

And the story with Pecel seller is stopped due to one buyer came and bought her
pecel-and another buyer came up-until there were like 3 buyers, hopefully, I
could be her lucky charm, hihihihih..

And, let’s move to the shoe-repair Man.

In the middle of repairing my shoes, his cell-phone was ringing, he picked up
the phone, and said something about 350,000 IDR. after he hung up the phone, he
told me the story that he has been staying and working in Jakarta for about 40
days. Before working to Jakarta he was a farmer in Garut, and his wife calling
him to manage his farm and pay 350,000 IDR. He was like sad, yet still could
smile because on next 15 he will be back to Garut, meet his wife and kids. And
he told me that he is probaby will stay in Garut and continue managing the
farm, since he couldn’t get much money in Jakarta :(.

Story today, I was reminded by God, probably 3500 or 350,000 IDR is affordable
for us, however, for those people, that mount of money is still much. That’s
when I thanked God for giving such a generous life to me and still can meet
those people to remind me to be thankful and keep praying for their lives, so
that they will have a good life :).

P.S: while talking to them, I paid attention to their eyes to show respect, and
I also threw some jokes so that they laugh hahahah :p. Although I was stared by
people who walked pass by us 😀

God Bless,

Put

Leave a Reply

